Silver Antelope  Silver Antelope

The National Council acting through its Executive Board awards the Silver Antelope.  This award may be made each year upon the nomination of the Regional Board of Directors.  It is made for noteworthy service of exceptional character to boyhood by registered Scouters within the territory under the jurisdiction of a Region.

The Silver Antelope Award is the highest award that a Region may present to an individual.  The first award was given nationally in 1943 and in the old Region 9 in 1945.

Buffalo Trail
Concho Valley 
South Plains
James Lewis Rhoades of Odessa received the award in 1959.

Bernold M. Hanson of Midland received the award in 1976.

Robert G. "Hawk" Davidson - May 22, 1976.  "Hawk" Davidson joined Scouting as an adult in 1963 and has worked in the interest of youth since that date.  He has been a Cubmaster, Scoutmaster, OA Chairman, Scout-O-Rama Chairman, member of the District Committee and active in every phase of the program.

He became a member of the Buffalo Trail Council Executive Board in 1976.  He has worked on the council Finance Committee, Camp Development Committee, Long Range Planning Committee.  The Buffalo Trail Council presented him the Silver Beaver in 1976.

"Hawk" has been a member of the South Central Region Advisory Board since 1979.  He has served as a National Camp Inspector, Special Guest Committee, 1981 Jamboree, Selection Committee for the National Eagle Scout Scholarship Committee and has helped fund Scout Troops on the Texas-Mexico border.

Oley F. Hedrick, Jr. of Midland received the award in 1981.

Steve Castle of Midland received the award in the Southern Region on May 25, 2000.

Castle has served youth through Scouting as assistant Scoutmaster, public relations chairman, finance chairman, district chairman, council president, area president, area vice president, Subcamp 16 camp chief - 1997 national jamboree, and a member of the Hispanic Task Force.

Arthur L. "Ike" McCarroll of Midland received the award May 24, 1985, for his service as president of the council, Regional National Eagle Scout Association and a member of the Regional Committee..

Dr. Tom R. Hunter of San Angelo received the award at the Regional Executive Meeting of Region 9 on October 17, 1971.

Governor Dolph Briscoe of Uvalde was represented the Silver Antelope Award at the South Central Regional meeting in New Orleans on October 27, 1973. 

Clarence J. Holtkamp of San Angelo received the award in 1982.

James M. Young of San Angelo received the ward during the South Central meeting held in Dallas on May 26, 1989 

Billy W. Willig of San Angelo received this high award at the South Central Regional meeting in 1988. 

Kennedy N. Clapp of Lubbock received the award in 1949.  He served as Scoutmaster, Council Commissioner, Chairman of Board of Trustees, organizer of several Chapters of the Order of the Arrow, instrumental in the organization of the Southwest Texas Council, traveled extensively to inspect Scout Camps and to train Volunteers in Scout leadership, Silver Beaver Honoree.

John F. Lott of Lubbock received the award in 1957.

Dr. Frank B. Malone of Lubbock received the award in 1967.

John E. Baker of Lubbock received the award in 1973.

Charles Neil of Lubbock received the award.  He served as OA Section Adviser of SC6 & SC4.  At the 1990 NOAC, he received the OA Distinguished Service Award.

Comanche Trail
Chisholm Trail 
Dr. T. C. Graves of Goldthwaite is the only person in this council to receive this award.  He was presented the Silver Antelope award during ceremonies at the National Council meeting in Hawaii on May 16, 1974. 

 Dr. Graves was well known throughout the United Methodist Church for his untiring efforts to bring Scouting to as many Methodist Churches as possible.  For that work, he also received the Torch Award, given by the Southwest Texas Conference of the United Methodist Church. 

He served on the National Executive Board, the Regional Executive Committee and the Comanche Trail Council Executive Board.

Joe P. Alexander, MD of Abilene received his award in 1977.

LeRoy Bell of Abilene received his award in 1978.

Bobbie Lee Wolfe of Abilene received the award during the South Central meeting on May 24, 1984.  He was elected president of the Chisholm Trail Council in 1977. He has served as vice president of the council, treasurer, sustaining membership chairman, and has been an active member of the council executive board since 1973. He served as Area IV Vice President 1981 through 1983. He participated in Wood Badge in 1977 and was recognized with the Scouterís Key 1970 and the Silver Beaver Award in 1974.

Bernice Wolfe 1984

Dale B. Brannom, MD of Abilene received this award on May 17, 1991.

He has served in numerous Scouting positions Including: Council Executive Board Member, Council President, Council Commissioner, Regional Board Member, National Committee on Boy Scouting, National Committee on Advancement. 

Last Updated:  January 21, 2011

Return to home page