Silver Buffalo Award

The Silver Buffalo Award is the highest award that the National Council of the Boy Scouts of America can bestow on a Scouter for distinguish service to boyhood. The Silver Buffalo Award is presented annually to adults who generously dedicate their time and resources for the benefit of youth. This award, Scouting's highest commendation for service to youth, recognizes the invaluable contributions American men and women have made to our nation's young people. The first Silver Buffalo awards were given by the National Council in 1926, when some 22 recipients were presented with the award.  The first award went to Lord Baden-Powell, the second to the Unknown Scout and the third award went to William D. Boyce of Chicago, who brought Scouting from England to America.

The award is usually presented during the National Council Meeting in May.  Such notables from Texas who have received this award are Neil A. Armstrong (El Paso),  Dwight D. Eisenhower (Denison), John H. Glenn, Jr. (Houston)., Lyndon B. Johnson (Johnson City), and Perry R. Bass (Fort Worth).

The only Scouter in the West Texas Scouting history area to receive this award that we are aware of is John F. Lott of Lubbock, Texas.

Return to Home Page