James E. West Fellowship

Comanche Trail Council

The James E. West Fellowship is a national  recognition for individuals who contribute, or have contributed in their name, $1,000 or more to the Council’s endowment trust fund.

The award is named after the first Chief Scout Executive of the Boy Scouts of America who exemplified Ralph Waldo Emerson’s observation that “an institution is the lengthened shadow of one man.”  Scouting today is the “lengthened shadow” of more than three decades of the farsighting and dedicated leadership of James E. West.

Those who are recognized by the James E. West Fellowship Award will cast their own “lengthened shadow” as they help insure the Scouting legacy for future generations of young people and create the financial stability of the program in the twenty-first century of this local council.  Those awards presented in the Comanche Trail Council are:

John Clardy, Lometa - January 22, 1998
Warren P. Duren - January 22, 1999
Dr. T. C. Graves, Goldthwaite - December 15, 1994
Bryan M. Healer, Brownwood - January 14, 1998
Frank T. Hilton, Brownwood - February 12, 1994
Frank Pellizzari, Jr., Breckenridge - August 20, 1997
James M. Perkins, DeLeon - March 3, 1997
ReVe Lynn Ponder, Early - April 29, 1996
Thomas A. Ponder, Brownwood - September 22, 1998
Steven D. Ross, Houston - October 29, 1998
Dr. Roger C. Schustereit, Cisco - March 3, 1997
Sheila J. Seale, Brownwood - March 3, 1997
Donald F. Smith, Stephenville - December 8, 1994
Perry A. Wakefield, Jr. - August 22, 2001

Return to Home Page