Participants in 1997 National Jamboree

Comanche Trail Council

Troop 1613

This story  was taken from the Brownwood Bulletin, date unknown:

As ambassadors of Central Texas, the Comanche Trail Council Contingent Troop 1613 sent 36 Boy Scouts and four sponsors to the 1997 National Jamboree at Fort A. P. Hill, Vir.

The boys represented 14 troops, 11 towns and seven counties from the Comanche Trail Council, and joined 33,000 scouts and 3,500 staff members from 50 states and several foreign countries.

The council also had 13 members on the national staff.

The group spent 3 days touring Washington, D.C., and the Virginia area.  They met with 17th District U.S. House Representative Charles Stenholm, D-Stamford, at the U.S. Capitol building, and toured the National Archives, Air and Space museum, the Natural History Museum, the American History Museum, the Washington Monument, the Lincoln Memorial, and the Vietnam Memorial Wall and the White House.  The group also took part in a Sunday morning worship service at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier.

Three days later, they moved into the jamboree camp and participated in several activities, including rappelling, trap shooting, challenger courses, air-rifle shooting, motorcrossing, archery, canoeing, sail boarding, rowing, kayaking, scuba diving, snorkeling, rafting and fishing.

John Ellis of Brownwood has provided us with some photos and souvenirs he colleted at the 1997 National Jamboree.  You can view these items by going to HERE.

Kevin Morris of Midland has provided us with some items he kept from the 1997 National Jamboree. You can view these items by going to HERE

Troop Roster

Jim DeWitt, Scoutmaster
Bob Reynolds, lst Assistant Scoutmaster
Dale Carpenter, 2nd Assistant Scoutmaster
James Hart, 3rd Assistant Scoutmaster

Brandon M. Fagan
Colby L. Reynolds

Tim Sullivan
James M. Goodwin
Jon D. goodwin
Andrew R. Jones
John W. Ellis
Adam Schluckebier
Chat Firth

Russell W. Griffin
Jonathon Seth

Garth C. Gist
Jeremy L. Smith
Scott Patrick
Clifford Adams
Johnson C. Wesson
Brain A. Tiemann

Jack Harper

James C. McLean
Brandon L. Blackburn

San Saba
James P. DeWitt
Christopher Muchon
Joshua S. Thomas
Joseph H. Ellis

Nathan Collier
Jason Parker
Dwight Knoll
Logan M. Synatlske
Jeremy J. Seifert
Timothy Parker
Aaron Carpenter
Jeffrey T. Phillips
Joseph B. Phillips 
James A. Wakefield
Jason Carpenter

Serving on National Staff:
Don Beach, Stephenville
Michael Beach, Stephenville
Kirt Brown, Stephenville
Michael Fulton, Stephenville
Carla Goodwin, Brownwood
Robert Goodwin, Brownwood
Hilda Griffin, Comanche
Mark Griffin, Comanche
Frank T. Hilton, Brownwood
Eric Howell, Brownwood
Mark Pate, Stephenville
James Perkins, DeLeon
David L. Rives, Stephenville

Return to Jamboree Comanche Trail Council
Return to Home Page